TMC Makes Power Moves: Ghose, Dev Top Candidates for Rajya Sabha Polls


TMC Makes Power Moves: Ghose, Dev Top Candidates for Rajya Sabha Polls

Sagarika Ghose
Sagarika Ghose

India’s political landscape heats up as Trinamool Congress (TMC) announces its nominees for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections. The Mamata Banerjee-led party’s strategic picks, including prominent journalist Sagarika Ghose and former Congress leader Sushmita Dev, signal its ambitions in the Upper House.

TMC Unleashes Political Heavyweights:

  • Sagarika Ghose: A renowned journalist and author, Ghose brings years of political expertise and media influence to the TMC camp. Her close association with the party and Mamata Banerjee is well-known.
  • Sushmita Dev: A seasoned politician, Dev joins TMC after serving as a Lok Sabha MP and Rajya Sabha member. Her political lineage and recent defection from Congress add another layer to the TMC’s strategy.
  • Md. Nadimul Haque and Mamata Bala Thakur: These established TMC leaders further strengthen the party’s representation in the Rajya Sabha.

Election Details:

  • Polling Date: February 27, 2024
  • Counting Day: February 27, 2024
  • Seats Up for Election: 56 across 15 states
  • Key Players: TMC, BJP, Congress, AAP, DMK

Why This Matters:

  • TMC’s candidate selection reflects its focus on bolstering its presence in the Rajya Sabha, potentially impacting national legislative processes.
  • Ghose’s inclusion brings a powerful media voice to the party, while Dev’s defection signifies potential cracks in the Congress camp.
  • The elections could reshape the Upper House’s balance of power, influencing major political decisions.


  1. Why did TMC choose Sagarika Ghose?
    • Her vast media experience, political knowledge, and association with the party make her a strategic asset.
  2. What does Sushmita Dev’s defection mean?
    • It signifies potential friction within Congress and bolsters TMC’s presence with an established politician.
  3. How will these elections impact Indian politics?
    • The results could affect the balance of power in the Rajya Sabha, influencing legislation and national debates.
  4. Who are the main contenders in these elections?
    • TMC, BJP, and Congress are key players, along with regional parties like AAP and DMK.
  5. When will we know the results?
    • Votes will be counted on February 27th, 2024, soon after the polls.
Don’t forget to leave us a comment below and let us know what you think! Share Our Website for Technology News , Health News , Latest Smartphones , Mobiles , Games , LifeStyle , USA News & Much more...